Author Topic: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p  (Read 6736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ninja Lou

  • Samurai/Ninja of RPM
  • Neo Arcadian
  • *
  • Posts: 1678
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
  • Ninjas........Damn
    • View Profile
How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« on: November 12, 2008, 01:23:29 AM »
Basically I am curious to see how everyone connects to the internet with there Wii. This might help us figure out where the lag might be coming from. So just list if you have the Lan adapter or connect Wirelessly and also what ISP you have.
I bought the adapter and have Time Warner cable.


This post has been approved by Marle!

Offline Jericho

  • Rather Unique
  • RPM Knight
  • ****
  • Posts: 7099
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Long time no see!
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2008, 01:29:20 AM »
Verison DSL & Linksys WRT54G Wireless Router (or Gateway for techno-clarity), [tornado fang] yeah. XD

Not to mention I have my Wii DMZ'd. It's ridiculously fast and stable (to the point of almost being like a regular match) with people who do the same thing, but other times, I just have no idea what's going on with it.

Offline VixyNyan

  • Kind & Generous Fluffy Pillow~
  • RPM Ecchi Princess
  • ****
  • Posts: 9819
  • Country: se
  • Gender: Female
  • ♪ Vixylicious Nya Nya~ ♪
    • View Profile
    • Rockman Perfect Memories
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2008, 01:34:25 AM »
Back when I was broadcasting with justin.tv, I used a Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector.

Now my Wii is connected to our wireless router with a proper WEP password, the connection is so awesomely fast! 0v0
Nintendo 3DS Friend Code: 3480-2506-4200
[DeviantArt|Twitch.tv|Youtube|Fan Work|WiiVC|Character File]
Rock10: Ranking. Rock9: AC, EA, SS, Challenge, Ranking.
(c) Sky Child~                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Offline The Blind Archer

  • Self-proclaimed jack-of-all-trades of art in training
  • Robot Master
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
  • I use localised names
    • View Profile
    • Fire Emblem New Dawn
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2008, 01:36:28 AM »
I use the ethernet connection in my dorm room for my Wii.  My DS?  I have to limit it to when I'm at home and near the router.  I'm not going to a McDonalds just for the sake of trading Pokemon online. >>

Offline Protoman Blues

  • Green Lantern of Sector 1337
  • RPM Knight
  • ****
  • Posts: 31334
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Searching for Wanda
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2008, 01:36:45 AM »
The Verizon DSL's connected to the LAN Adaptor.  The LAN Adaptor's connected to the, USB Port. 

Offline Police Girl

  • A total qt
  • Legendary Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 16836
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
  • cannons are cool i guess
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2008, 01:38:14 AM »
Its connected through the Linksys Router, and a connection with hefty security.

Offline TheDivine

  • Resistance Member
  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2008, 04:18:20 AM »
The Wifi Connector until I got a wireless router.

Offline Nexus

  • is one random son of a
  • SA-Class Hunter
  • *
  • Posts: 963
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • No one ever said all Reploids were smart.
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2008, 04:22:06 AM »
No special stuff connected on or to my Wii; my house is a password-protected Wifi point!  8)

Offline Ninja Lou

  • Samurai/Ninja of RPM
  • Neo Arcadian
  • *
  • Posts: 1678
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
  • Ninjas........Damn
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2008, 04:23:18 AM »
Who has firewall running at the same time? Sometimes that causes lag too.

This post has been approved by Marle!

Offline Wanda Bear

  • The Wanderess of RPM
  • SA-Class Hunter
  • *
  • Posts: 938
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Female
  • Currently Nowhere.
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2008, 04:26:38 AM »
No special stuff connected on or to my Wii; my house is a password-protected Wifi point!  8)
Same for me! :D

Home sweet home

Offline Ephidiel

  • B-Class Hunter
  • *
  • Posts: 449
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2008, 03:42:42 PM »
wireless via router
same with the ds and my PC.
Only the Xbox360 is wired to it.

Offline Hypershell

  • needs DRAGONITE POWER!
  • Legendary Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5258
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Steel in Zee Head
    • View Profile
    • Get equipped with Hyper's DA
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2008, 06:14:51 PM »
Wireless router w/ DSL.  Under advise from my fellow RPMers I DMZed my Wii yesterday.  Although I did have a perfect match beforehand, once, but I think it does help make connections more reliable.  I also try to turn off my computer while Smashing.

Who has firewall running at the same time? Sometimes that causes lag too.
Don't all wireless routers employ a Firewall by default?  I know mine did, and I was looking for the cheapest piece of crap I could find (mainly because I had only my DS at the time).  I do leave the Windows Firewall off, though.  No sense in having to enter in all the same filters twice over.

BTW, for fellow DI-524 users, if you have one of their more troublesome revisions, someone may have told you to shut off the "Auto" option on the TX Rates due to the DS not liking it.  That is true, however contrary to early reports you DO NOT have to leave it down to a measily 2.  It slows all wireless connections immensely if anything but your DS is on it.  Crank it up to 54 and all should be well.

Hell, while I'm on that topic, here are all DI-524 settings one needs to watch out for.  Much of this, Security in particular, could probably be applied to other routers as well:

Home>Wireless
-Change the Channel (it's 6 by default).  Nintendo recommends 1 or 11, but you can try others if they don't work.  DSOrganize has gotten reports of 10 working for Lite users who are having trouble.
-SSID Broadcast Enabled.  Yes, you can enter your SSID manually and technically not need this, but the connection seems to be less reliable that way.
-Security: Need WEP if you're connecting with a DS.  Authentication should be Open System.  Set Encryption and Key Type to your liking, and use only Key1 (ignore 2-4).  If using WPA for your Wii (you cannot connect with a DS this way), you need to use the regular WPA and not a passphrase.

Home>DHCP
-Give your Nintendo systems static IP addresses (homebrew folks: do the same for your computer if you intend to be using DSJoy; you'll need to open a port for that as well).  Again, you can technically work without this, but the connection won't be as reliable.

Advanced>Performance
-TX Rates to 54.  The DS hates "Auto", Wii I'm not sure about.
-Mix Mode
-Long Preamble

Advanced>DMZ
-Enter the Wii's IP address.  Since you cannot enter two IPs at once for DMZ, you might want to go into the Advanced>Firewall section and add a rule for your DS to mimick the DMZ's rule for the Wii.

Hypershell #5897 on Discord

Offline Jericho

  • Rather Unique
  • RPM Knight
  • ****
  • Posts: 7099
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Long time no see!
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2008, 06:54:01 PM »
Hmm, Hypershell just reminded me that I should try and post a general idea on how to DMZ/Port Forward a Wii in the future.

Offline Karai

  • with RICE
  • B-Class Hunter
  • *
  • Posts: 486
  • Gender: Male
  • (not) Missing in Action
    • View Profile
    • My stuff & HI SKORS
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2008, 11:27:54 PM »
-TX Rates to 54.
Funny, my DSL works only on auto TX Rate (DI-524 rev. b4).

Offline Protoman Blues

  • Green Lantern of Sector 1337
  • RPM Knight
  • ****
  • Posts: 31334
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Searching for Wanda
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2008, 03:37:34 AM »
This might help us figure out where the lag might be coming from.

You know, I'm fully willing to put all the blame on Nintendo here.

Offline HyperSonicEXE

  • Master's Unit
  • *
  • Posts: 2590
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2008, 03:39:46 AM »
Wireless router.

Used to be Nintendo's USB Dongle.
Sticking out the front of my computer.
Which got moved a lot.

...guess what happened to it.

Offline Solar

  • SHSL Solar Boy
  • Legendary Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6696
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2008, 03:41:34 AM »
You know, I'm fully willing to put all the blame on Nintendo here.
I thought that that was unanimously decided.

Anyways, I connect through a Linksys WRT54G router, but it is in a different room from my Wii so the signal is not perfect, so if there's lag when we play it'll probably be me, but this is only because it is Brawl, no other game lags.

BTW, to anyone thinking about getting one of those Wifi USBs to connect to Wifi, DON'T. I'm telling you this from personal experience with two of them.

My life is currently bears and Jojos and everything is great.


Offline Hypershell

  • needs DRAGONITE POWER!
  • Legendary Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5258
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
  • Steel in Zee Head
    • View Profile
    • Get equipped with Hyper's DA
Re: How do you Nintendo Wi-Fi? =p
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2008, 03:48:16 AM »
Yeah, who wants to always leave your computer running to keep your wifi connection open?  Not to mention your connection will probably get farked if your computer is doing any resource-heavy activities while you're away (virus scanning, disk defragmenting, torrent downloads, etc.).

Funny, my DSL works only on auto TX Rate (DI-524 rev. b4).
Bizarre.  Well, I'm rev A2, DS phat.

Hypershell #5897 on Discord