C# MegaMan Engine

Tesserex · 69959

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #100 on: March 19, 2011, 11:30:00 PM
Yeah Xane, it was quite a pain to make. Mostly because of the fact that I'm using C# which doesn't play quite as well with C code.



Offline Xane

  • Cyberelf
  • *
    • Posts: 17
    • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Filespace
Reply #101 on: March 20, 2011, 12:05:42 AM
Very nice! We seem to be the only two fangames doing proper NSF emulation it seems. This will be interesting. :>



Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #102 on: March 21, 2011, 06:35:45 PM
Could anyone do me a favor and identify a stage in the classic series with a horizontally moving platform that switches direction between left and right? I want to study its behavior and whether MM shifts by a pixel or not when it switches direction, but I can't actually find any such platforms.



Offline KoiDrake

  • SA-Class Hunter
  • *
    • Posts: 981
    • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Reply #103 on: March 21, 2011, 07:25:25 PM
The only ones I can remember are in Gutsman's stage, and they do the shifting you mention.


Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #104 on: March 22, 2011, 03:13:59 AM
Great! That means my implementation of collisions and friction is correct. Or at least correct enough for now.



MexicanSunflower

  • Guest
Reply #105 on: March 22, 2011, 03:16:52 AM
While these platforms move with a curve, Bright Man's stage has some examples of switching platforms.



Offline HertzDevil

  • Banned
  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 29
    • Gender: Male
  • OOPS
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Reply #106 on: March 25, 2011, 07:03:56 PM
so no channel muting for SFXs
   
and i don't remember this engine basing on MM10

also how come Mega Man can slide into walls without being stopped instantly

Me bringing up more dA dramas really makes no sense but I guess I KILLED ANOTHER GAME.
YouTube


Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #107 on: March 27, 2011, 01:22:26 AM
Based on MM10 how? That and the sliding thing are done by the project created with the engine, not the engine itself. The sfx channel support is part of the engine, but it's not done yet.



Offline HertzDevil

  • Banned
  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 29
    • Gender: Male
  • OOPS
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Reply #108 on: March 27, 2011, 07:49:05 AM
Based on MM10 how? That and the sliding thing are done by the project created with the engine, not the engine itself. The sfx channel support is part of the engine, but it's not done yet.
if it isn't based on MM10, then go and do the channel muting and all that stuff

Me bringing up more dA dramas really makes no sense but I guess I KILLED ANOTHER GAME.
YouTube


Offline Gatuca

  • A-Class Hunter
  • *
    • Posts: 511
    • Gender: Male
  • Sprite Doctor
    • View Profile
Reply #109 on: March 27, 2011, 11:10:09 PM
tesserex, one question?

is it possible to create slopes?

are you gonna allow to use slope tile blocks in the engine, cause i kinda need those for my own project, specially for taichi woman stage.

Posted on: March 27, 2011, 06:00:26 AM
here's an example man


Here's My Facebook Account, Join the Megagirl R project http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002211482262

if you want to know my skype account, send me a PM


MexicanSunflower

  • Guest
Reply #110 on: March 28, 2011, 12:01:25 AM
Just write your own block? I'm pretty sure the engine supports custom block entitles, there should be some examples in the demo project.



Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #111 on: March 28, 2011, 04:16:31 AM
There's no way to make an accurate slope block even with the entity system. It would behave like a tiny staircase, and you would have to jump. The original games didn't have them either (did they?) so I'm not planning on adding them.



Offline HertzDevil

  • Banned
  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 29
    • Gender: Male
  • OOPS
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Reply #112 on: March 28, 2011, 01:03:33 PM
Only MM8 has slopes; MM1 Wily 2 has inverted/inaccessible slopes; one point in MM2 Wily 1 has this (reached by using Item-1/2/3):
[spoiler][/spoiler]
And thus, Mega Man Unlimited Glue Man's battle arena should be considered illegitimate.

Me bringing up more dA dramas really makes no sense but I guess I KILLED ANOTHER GAME.
YouTube


Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #113 on: April 24, 2011, 05:35:10 PM
I want to make the preliminary announcement that I have added NTSC filtering into my engine. So now it can look as if you're in front of a TV. Once it's tweaked, possibly for performance (I barely reach 60 fps, sometimes not, while Mex says it's fine for him), and I get some other bugs fixed, I'll make a release.



MexicanSunflower

  • Guest
Reply #114 on: April 25, 2011, 01:08:30 AM
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbVQts8nNzs[/youtube]

A quick tech demo of the filter being run in real time.



And a raw comparison.



Offline Gatuca

  • A-Class Hunter
  • *
    • Posts: 511
    • Gender: Male
  • Sprite Doctor
    • View Profile
Reply #115 on: April 25, 2011, 04:53:36 AM
one question teserrex, the engine could have the option for playing in fullscreen, when i get my new PC, i could buy an adaptor to connect it to my TV so i can play it more properly and it looks great.

Here's My Facebook Account, Join the Megagirl R project http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002211482262

if you want to know my skype account, send me a PM


Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #116 on: April 25, 2011, 06:18:47 AM
Actually, for whatever reason, when the screen is bigger, it's a bigger drain on the system to draw, so it slows down a lot. I need to put some time into investigating why this is. On the surface, it doesn't make much sense logically.



Offline Gatuca

  • A-Class Hunter
  • *
    • Posts: 511
    • Gender: Male
  • Sprite Doctor
    • View Profile
Reply #117 on: April 25, 2011, 08:15:42 AM
well from what i understand, when something runs on fullscreen, is not actually making it bigger, but makes the video run at the same native resolution but filling the complete screen monitor, but is more like zooming out the video area as it play with uncompressed pixels, (the pixels are bigger on raw footage in fullscreen) as opossed to the video resize with actually upconverts the pixels to a more bigger resolution or in other words it renders the image to a bigger resolution that it has.


this is a little hard to explain, but try using an emulator of NES and compare with zoom windowed options, and then to use fullscreen native resolution like actual NES resolution but in fullscreen.

Here's My Facebook Account, Join the Megagirl R project http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002211482262

if you want to know my skype account, send me a PM


Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #118 on: May 07, 2011, 07:03:38 AM
Yeah what's weird is that even zooming the same resolution slows it down. If I run my engine, and stretch the window to fill the screen, it sometimes slows down, even though the drawing surface is still 256 x 224 pixels. I just tested it - didn't get an actual slowdown, but it was saying it was much busier in thinking. Yesterday I tried on my tv, and maximizing it did slow it down a bit.

Posted on: April 25, 2011, 14:45:32
I just uploaded a new youtube video of my engine, in which I fight Crystal Man. The video description contains a link to download the latest version of the engine and demo project, so I'll just link to the video here. Also remember that it says to get XNA 4.0 if you don't have it already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISjPOBHgC80



Offline chimera_king

  • Cyberelf
  • *
    • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Reply #119 on: September 16, 2011, 02:25:14 PM
I like your engine, but after downloading CME 0.9, I can not seem to get much out of it. The XML opens just fine but how do you edit levels, add enemies, or do direct interfacing?

Posted on: September 15, 2011, 19:00:13
Tesserex thank you for helping me last night!



Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #120 on: February 02, 2012, 05:38:07 AM
Just want to make sure everyone knows this project is still going strong. I have a bunch more youtube videos up now, and the documentation is already started. You can always get the latest version at www.github.com/Tesserex/C--MegaMan-Engine/ by clicking the downloads link. The newest release is 20120128.



Offline RetroRespecter

  • B-Class Hunter
  • *
    • Posts: 349
    • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Reply #121 on: February 15, 2012, 12:33:34 AM
 owob



Offline Turian

  • RPM Soldier
  • ****
    • Posts: 509
    • Gender: Male
  • IT Specialist
    • View Profile
Reply #122 on: February 22, 2012, 09:56:16 PM
I have a question. As far a graphical assets go, can I use higher quality sprites than 8-bit?

For an example, If I wanted to update Mega Man's sprites set to look more like a HD sprite without adding frames, could I do that without crashing the engine?  What I am talking about is similar to what Capcom did for SSF2HD Remix. Note that things like scrolling, number of animation frames and such would not change, just a graphic swap. I took a class on C# about two years ago, and I messed around in XNA while I was in class. I think I will take a good look at your engine and see if I can figure out how it runs. Your doing an awesome job!



Offline Tesserex

  • Net Navi
  • *
    • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Reply #123 on: February 23, 2012, 06:46:38 AM
The engine can read any image types supported by the .NET framework. So you can use full 32 bit color PNG if you want, including transparency and everything. No limits really. I didn't impose any artificial limitations.



Offline Turian

  • RPM Soldier
  • ****
    • Posts: 509
    • Gender: Male
  • IT Specialist
    • View Profile
Reply #124 on: February 23, 2012, 04:15:36 PM
That's awesome. Now, to re draw all of Mega man's frames in HD.