SNES and PS graphics

Waifu · 3962

Offline Waifu

• Ultimate Despair
  • Master's Unit
  • Kanako, the Moriya Shrine Goddess
    • View Profile
on: July 01, 2011, 04:41:04 AM
Now, I am not a graphic designer or an engineer but is it really hard to animate Playstation quality sprites on a Super nintendo?

I mean look at these:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZfjcfOVyeE[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-lIkYkBfo0[/youtube]

Frost Man and Cold Man may or may not be the best examples butthe point that I am mgetting at is that they were able to utilize some graphics from Mega Man but overall Rockman and Forte are not as colorful as  was. For those who are familiar with spriting, graphics and techincal design, what can the PS1 do with Mega Man that Super Nintendo couldn't do with Mega Man and Bass? What exactly are the differences?

Offline Slash Man

• Resistance Member
  • NES Gamer
    • View Profile
    • Mega Stuff
Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 05:23:05 AM
Mega Man has more screen space on the PlayStation, that's for sure. It also has better sound (although Mega Man X 3 is a bad example).

It's not necessarily harder to animate Mega Man 8's likeness on SNES, but the colors are limited, and the overall display is larger. It also appears he has less frames, but I'm not entirely sure about that one.

Offline Flame

• The obsessive
  • RPM Soldier
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: July 01, 2011, 08:05:02 AM
More muscle, processing power more game space, (Disc > Cartirdge) I think.

Also, welcome to the oldest discussion ever. This is nothing new.

...When Larry the reploid accountant goes maverick of his own accord, he's certainly formidable during tax season, but he isn't going to provide X the challenge needed to make him grow as a warrior and reach his potential.

Archer

Reply #3 on: July 01, 2011, 02:38:58 PM
Who cares.

I don't think any game designers are going to animate Playstation quality sprites on a Super Nintendo these days.